Magoffin County High School

201 Hornet Drive Salyersville, KY 41465 (606) 349-2011



Tony Skaggs Principal

08 May 2014

Mr. Henry Webb KHSAA Board of Controllers

RE: 2015-2018 Realignment of Districts

Mr. Webb and KHSAA Board of Controllers.

On behalf of Magoffin County Schools, we would like to address our concern with the proposed realignment of districts for the 2015-2018 school years.

Over the past sixteen years, Magoffin County has been moved to a different district seven times (see attachment). The proposed reassignment once again moves our school away from three of our neighboring districts. These many reassignments have had a negative impact on the morale of our students, in part because we are unable to develop healthy sportsmanship rivalries with our neighboring school districts. This does little to motivate our teams to be more competitive.

Being moved from district to district so many times over recent years has caused our district to view itself somewhat as a "foster child" school moved from place to place when some other district needs "yet another team" to fill its roster; our team feels it has no true home.

If the 2015-2018 reassignment moves forward as planned, we will give strong and careful consideration to leaving district affiliation to become an independent team. While we do not desire to take such action, we feel we may be left with no reasonable alternative.

We would implore you to give very careful consideration to the implications of this move before making any decision to reassign our district yet again. Thank you for you consideration in this matter.

Respectfully,	
Neil West	Stanley Holbrook
Magoffin County District Athletic Director	Superintendent, Magoffin County Schools

MAGOFFIN COUNTY HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT ASSIGNMENTS

<u>1998</u>

- 1. Magoffin
- 2. Greeup
- 3. West Jessamine
- 4. Ashland
- 5. Rowan
- 6. East Jessamine

2001-2002

- 1. Magoffin
- 2. Boyd
- 3. Greenup
- 4. Ashland
- 5. Lawrence
- 6. Rowan
- 7. Sheldon Clark

2007-2008

- 1. Magoffin
- 2. Belfry
- 3. East Ridge
- 4. Sheldon Clark
- 5. Pike Central

2011-2014

- 1. Magoffin
- 2. Knott
- 3. Breathitt
- 4. Jackson
- 5. Morgan

<u>1999-2000</u>

- 1. Magoffin
- 2. East Carter
- 3. Greenup
- 4. Ashland
- 5. Lawrence
- 6. Rowan
- 7. Sheldon Clark

2002-2006

- 1. Magoffin
- 2. Sheldon Clark
- 3. East Ridge
- 4. Shelby Valley
- 5. Prestonsburg
- 6. Pike Central
- 7. Belfry

2009-2010

- 1. Magoffin
- 2. Breathitt
- 3. Estill
- 4. Powell
- 5. Knott
- 6. Morgan